Meeting Sehedule 2017


    What do you want to do?  
bult Log in to My Account
bult New Registration
bult GISFI Webmail
bult GISFI Newsletter
bult Image Gallery
bult Change Password
bult Benefits of joining GISFI
more BACK

28th GISFI Standardization Series Meeting (GSSM) Jointly with IEEE 5G Summit



Tentative Program

28thGISFI Standardization Series Meeting (GSSM)
Jointly with IEEE 5G Summit
Theme: Digital India

March 17-18, 2017

SENSES Hotel, Sector V, Salt Lake, Kolkata- 700091, India

Organized by: IEEE ComSoc Kolkata Chapter jointly with IEEE CAS, Kolkata Chapter and GISFI
General Chair: Prof.Iti Saha Misra, Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering, Jadavpur University, Kolkata, ComSoc Chairperson IEEE Kolkata Chapter, India.

General Co-Chair: Prof. Suvra Sekhar Das, GS Sanyal School of Telecommunication, IIT Kharagpur, India.

Contact Persons:
Mr. Nirmoy Modak, Jadavpur University, Kolkata; email:
Mr. Tanumay Manna, Jadavpur University, Kolkata email:
Industry Interface:
Mr. Pallab Ganguly, CESC Ltd,



Day 1-A: Friday March 17, 2017 (IEEE 5G Summit: Digital India)

08.30- Onwards (REGISTRATION)
09:00 - 10:00(Grand Opening)
09:00-09:05 : Welcome Ceremony:Inaugural Song
09:05 -09:15: Welcome Speech
General Chair, Prof. ItiSahaMisra, Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering, Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India
9.15-9.25 Address by Chief Guest and Lightning of the Lamp : by Chief Guest, Honb'l IT Minister, Govt. of West Bengal
09:25 - 9:35:Visionary Talk
Prof. Ramjee Prasad, Founder Chair, GISFI,Founder President, CTIF Global Capsule (CGC), and Professor, Future Technologies for Business Ecosystem Innovation (FT4BI), Aarhus University, Denmark
9.35 - 9:45:Inaugural Talk : IEEE 5G Initiative
Dr. Ashutosh Dutta, Director of Technology, AT&T Labs, New Jersey USA
9.45 - 10:00:Plenary Talk
Guest of Honour, Shri Talleen Kumar, Principal Secretary, IT & Electronics, Government of West Bengal.
10:00 - 10:15:Address by Special Guest
Dr. Tulika Pandey, Scientist 'F'/ Director, Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology (MeitY), Govt. of India
10:15-10:25: Vote of Thanks
Prof. Salil Kumar Sanyal, IEEE Kolkata Section CAS Chair and ComSocExcom Member, Former IEEE Kolkata Section Chair
10:25 - 11:00 (HIGH TEA/COFFEE)

Day 1-B: Friday March 17, 2017 (IEEE 5G Summit: Digital India)
11:00-12:30: Keynote Session-1
Session Chair: Prof. SaswatChakroborty, IIT Kharagpur
Keynote Speaker 1: "System aspects of Digital India - Requirements, Architecture and Standardization Status", Mr.VinoshBabu James, Technical Standards, Qualcomm India. (30 mins)
Keynote Speaker 2:Ericson (TBD)
Keynote Speaker 3:CISCO (TBD)
Keynote Speaker 4: Polaris Networks, Mr. Vinoy Gupta, CTO
12.30 - 13.30 Keynote Session-2
Session Chair: TBD/ Prof. Rajakumar, Director, IIT Bhubaneswar
Keynote Speaker 4: Prof. Peter Lindgren, Professor, Multi Business Model Innovation and Technology, Aarhus University, Denmark.
Keynote Speaker 5: "Platform based approach for Prototyping 5G Research", Mr. Tarun Gupta, Business Development Manager -RF, NI India
Keynote Speaker 6:"Digital Payment s", Mr. Sumit Misra, General Manager, Technology Head of Innovation, RS Software, Kolkata.
Lunch Break 13.30 -14.30
14.30- 15.30 Invited Talks: Session Chair: Prof. B.P Sinha , ISI Kolkata
Invited Talk 1: "MIMO in 5G", M Chandrasekaran, Senior Research Engineer Centre of Excellence in Wireless Technology (CEWiT).
Invited Talk 2: Dr. Ashok Chandra, Former Wireless Advisor, Govt. of India.
Invited Talk 3: Mr. Ravi Kiran, Bangalore, on 5G Applications  
15.30 - 16.30 : Research Abstract Presentation
Session Chair: Prof. SuvraSekhar Das, IIT Kharagpur
(TBD, 4 to 5 Presentation on selected topics, name will be given after 20 th Feb)
Tea Break : 16.30-17.00
Time : 17:00-18:00: Panel Session: Security challenges with 5G technology- A Cross Industry View
Moderator: Mr. Sandeep Sengupta- ISOAH
Dr. Ashutosh Dutta- AT & T , From Service provider perspective
Dr. Sourav Dutta- IBM, From solution provider perspective
Mr. SumitPoddar- CESC, From Power utility, smart grid perspective
Mr. Rana PratapSircar- Ericsson, From endpoint instrumentation, gadgetsperspective
Nirupam Sen- BSI, From standardization body perspective
18:00-19:00 (Cultural Program with Tea/Soft Drinks )
19:00-20:30 (Gala Dinner) ( Hotel booking upto 8.30 pm)

Day 2: Saturday March 18, 2017(28th GSSM)
08.30- Onwards (REGISTRATION)
9:00 - 9:30 : GISFI Opening Session:
Chair:Lt. Gen. AKS Chandele PVSM, AVSM (Retd ), President, IETE "GISFI Future Strategy", Prof. Ramjee Prasad, Founder Chair, GISFI, Founder President, CTIF Global Capsule (CGC), and Professor, Future Technologies for Business Ecosystem Innovation (FT4BI), Aarhus University, Denmark
"IETE and GISFI", Dr. Smriti Dagur, Former President, IETE Vote of Thanks, Mr. T.R. Dua, Vice President, GISFI.
  9.30-10.30 : Special Invited Talk Session
Session Chair: Dr. Ashok Chandra, Ex-Wireless Advisor Invited Talk 1: Prof. Saswat Chakborty, IIT KGP
Invited Talk 2: Prof. Debashis Dutta, IIT KGP
Invited Talk 3: Prof. Rajakumar , IIT Bhubaneswar/ Dr. A. Bhattacharyya, ISRO SAC
10:30 - 11:10 (Tea/Coffee)
11:00 - 12:00 : GISFI Session 1: Security and Privacy
Chair: Dr.Anand R. Prasad, NEC
Vice Chair: Dr.DebuNayak, Huawei
Secretary: Dr. Balwant Sharma, Individual Member Invited Talk 1: Dr. Debabrata Nayak, Chief Security Officer, Huawei Telecom, India.
Invited Talk 2: Mr. Pallab Ganguly, Smartgrid Security, CESC, WB
Invited Talk 3: Dr. Mayur Dave, Reliance Telecom; (4)Dr. Sanjay Kumar, BIT Mesra, Ranchi
12:00- 1:00: GISFI Session 2: Cloud Service Oriented Network (CSeON)
Chair: Dr. Parag Pruthi, NIKSUN
Vice Chair: Dr.NiranthAmogh, Huawei Invited Talk 1: "Software Defined Network" - Speaker: Samar Shailendra
Invited Talk 2: Dr. SuvraSekhar Das, IIT Kharagpur;
Invited Talk 3: Dr. Preetam Kumar, IIT Patna
13:30-14:30 (Lunch) Program Schedule
Day 2-B: Saturday March 18, 2017(28th GSSM)
14:30 -15:30: GISFI Session 4: Internet of Things
Chair: Dr. Balamuralidhar P., TCS, India
Vice Chair: Dr. Preetam Kumar, IIT Patna Invited Talk 1:Dr. Sriganesh Rao, TCS, Bangalore, India;
Invited Talk 2: Dr. Arun Golas, RetdSr DDG DoT, Govt. of India;
Invited Talk 3: Invited Talk (3) : by Ericsson as proposed by Mr. Rana Sirkar
15:30 -17:00: GISFI Session 3: Special Interest Group
Chair: Dr. Krishna Sirohi, i2TB Research Foundation & GISFI
Vice Chair: Dr. Ashutosh Dutta, AT&T Invited Talk 1: Prof.VandanaRohokale, SKNSITS, Lonavala;
Invited Talk 2: Telerehabilitation of Stroke Patients: Aniruddha Sinha, TCS ;
Invited Talk 3:Indoor Localization using Mobile phone and wearable : Avik Ghose, TCS
16:30-16:45 (Tea break)
16:45 - 17:30 : GISFI Session 5: Future Radio Network
Chair: Dr. Krishna Sirohi, i2TB Research Foundation, India
Vice Chair: Dr. Navin Kumar, ASE, Bangalore Invited Talk 1: Dr.Kalyan Sundaram, SAI Technology Pvt Ltd, Chennai;
Invited Talk 2:To be decided
17:30-18:30: GISFI Session 6: Green ICT
Chair: Dr. Basavaraj Hooli, Individual member
Vice Chair: Dr. Suvra Sekhar Das, IIT Kharagpur, India Invited Talk 1: Prof. V Prithviraj, Former Principal, Pondicherry College of Engineering;
Invited Talk 2: Dr. Pratap Kumar Panigrahi, RetdSr DDG DoT, Govt. of India
18:30-19:00 : GISFI Session 7: Spectrum
Chair: Dr. Pawan K. Garg, Former Member, Radio Regulations Board, ITU
Vice Chair: Dr. Tilak Raj Dua, GISFI
Secretary: Dr. Sanjay Kumar, BIT, Mesra,
Invited Talk 1: Dr.Navin Kumar, Amrita School of Engineering, Bangalore;
Invited Talk 2: Prof. N. K. Srivastava, SRMGPC, Lucknow
End of the 28th GSSM

Meeting Documents:
Document ID Document Title: Author &
Organisation name
Date Meeting
Purpose Status
Sorry, There is no meeting document availabe
Viewing 1 - 0 of 0 entries